The California School Immunization Law requires that children be up-to-date on their immunizations (shots) to attend school or child care. Diseases like measles and whooping cough spread quickly, so children need to be protected before they enter.
Please note: Every family attending GISSV must comply with the California immunization requirements; the requirements of your country of origin are not applicable.
California Immunization Law
Under law SB 277 exemptions based on personal beliefs aren't an option for the vaccines that are currently required for entry into child care or school in California. Personal beliefs exemptions on file for a child already attending child care or school will remain valid until the child reaches the next immunization checkpoint at kindergarten (including Transitional kindergarten) or 7th grade.
Your child’s Immunization Record must show the date your child was given each of the following required shots:
|Vaccine||2 - 3 months||4 - 5 months||6 - 14 months||15 - 17 months||18+ months||4 - 6 years||7 - 17 years||7th grade|
|Polio||1||2||2||3||3||4 (a)||4 (a)|
|DTP/DTaP||1||2||3||3||4||5 (b)||5 (b)|
|Tdap Booster||1 (c)|
|MMR||1||1||2 (d)||2 (d)||2 (d)|
a) 3 doses meet requirement for ages 4-6 if at least one was given on or after the 4th birthday.
b) 4 doses meet requirement for ages 4-6 years if at least one was on or after the 4th birthday. 3 doses meet the requirement if at least 1 dose of Tdap, DTaP, or DTP vaccine was given on or after the 7th birthday. 1 or 2 doses of Td vaccine given on or after the 7th birthday count towards the requirement.
c) 1 dose on or after 7th birthday.
d) 2 doses both on or after 1st birthday.
For more information about school immunization requirements and resources, please visit the California Department of Public Health’s website at www.shotsforschool.org, or contact your local health department or county office of education.